Good show!

February 13, 2009

Hal Pomeranz, Deer Run Associates

Gene Kim, Kevin Behr, and I have been having some fun on Twitter (where we’re @RealGeneKim, @kevinbehr, and @hal_pomeranz respectively) with the #itfail thread.  Every time we come across an example of poor IT practice, one of us throws out a tweet.  It’s driven some entertaining discussions, and generally been a good way to blow off steam.

But I also think folks with good IT practices should be recognized in some way.  So I just wanted to send out this quick post to recognize the proactive IT process demonstrated by our hosts here at WordPress.com.  When I logged into my dashboard today, I found the following message waiting for me:

We will be making some code changes in about 42 hours which will log you out of your WordPress.com account. They should only take a few seconds and you should be able to log in afterwards without any problems. (more info)

It seems like such a simple thing, but to me it demonstrates some excellent IT process competancies:

  • Planned changes: they know well in advance when change is occurring and how long they expect it to take
  • Situational awareness: they know who is going to be impacted and in what fashion
  • Communication: they have a mechanism for alerting the affected parties in a reasonable time frame
  • Transparency:  they’re willing to alert their user community that they will be inconvenienced rather than just let it happen and hope nobody notices

While these all may seem like trivial or “of course” items to many of you reading this blog, let me tell you that many of the IT shops that I visit as part of my consulting practice regularly #itfail in some or all of the above areas.

So kudos to the folks at WordPress!  Good show!

Comments are closed.

